“I went on to explain that there are at least 3 stages to life, beginning with you as victim, then moving on to you as creator of your life, and ending—if you’re lucky—with you be- coming servant to the Divine.” ~ Joe Vitale

I have been feeling very weak and quite ill for the last 3 weeks or so and even though my doctor suggested that I take a break from doing any intellectual work to rest and recover, I didn’t quite obey, at least not 100%. 

Apparently, I have reached a physical and psychological state of exhaustion from using too much of my mind and my poor body, mind, and spirit needed me to disconnect for a while and do absolutely nothing. They needed me to drop everything for a while and just be.

Well, I am not really the type who can sit still for too long and even though I enjoy taking a good nap, going for a walk in nature and doing nothing for a little while, I couldn’t just do nothing for days as my doctor advised me and even though I felt that my body, mind, and soul needed that. And last week, because I really felt the need to read something, I grabbed this book called Zero Limits, written by Joe Vitale and Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len which I believe both my mind and soul loved, even though they won’t yet admit to it. Shhht. Don’t tell my doctor 🙂

The 3 Stages of Life

Zero Limits is a really beautiful book about the Ho’oponopono technique, the famous ancient Hawaiian practice of reconciliation and forgiveness, a practice that Joe Vitale learned from Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len, who apparently cured a complete ward of criminally insane patients–without ever seeing any of them.  And right in the beginning of this book, the author speaks about the 3 Stages of Life, or the 3 Stages of Awakening as he later calls them, stages that I would like to share with you today.

1. The Victim Stage

This is a place where people see themselves as being victims of their environments, as victims of everything that happens to them and all around them. 

When you are this stage, you feel powerless and you see the world around you as being hostile and unfriendly and the way you see it, you have no control over what happens to you and all around you. you are the mercy of it all.

Unfortunately, this is a place where many people live. A stage where people get stuck, giving their power away to forces outside themselves, blaming, condemning, criticizing and complaining about how bad they have it and how the whole world is against them. 

“Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” ~ Matthew 17:20

2. The “I Am in Control” Stage 

This stage is all about taking life in your own hands and creating life Your Way.

When you are in this stage, you set goals, you make plans, you set intentions. You know exactly how you want your life to unfold and you make sure that your life unfolds that way. 

You no longer give your power away to forces outside of you and no matter what happens to you and all around you, you always take matters in your own hands making sure that things get corrected and that you always get what you wish for.

“It is the coward and the fool who says, ‘This is fate'”– so says the Sanskrit proverb. But it is the strong man who stands up and says, “I will make my fate.” ~ Swami Vivekananda

3. The Awakening Stage: Serving the Divine

The last stage of life it’s called the Awakening Stage. This is a place where you begin to get more and more in touch with your heart, soul, and intuition, living your life moment by moment, being fully present and engaged in the NOW. A place where you understand that you have a choice but not control of your life.

Because you spend more time in your heart and less time in your mind, you begin to understand that your goals, plans, and intentions are nothing but limitations and slowly but surely you let go of your need to always control everything that happens to you and around you – situations, events, people, etc. You surrender to what is, allowing everything and everyone to be exactly as they are, understanding that “By letting it go it all gets done. The world is won by those who let it go. But when you try and try. The world is beyond winning.” Lao Tzu

When you are at this stage, you begin to understand that when you create your life with your mind, which is limited, you can’t help but limit yourself. But when you allow the Soul to lead the way, living from the heart, feeling inspired – IN – SPIRIT and living your life from that Divine and magical place, you give life to things that were never seen before. You give birth to things you never knew were possible, experiencing all kind of miracles and feeling love and gratitude for everything and everyone, including yourself. To quote Joe Vitale, “You live, in general, in a constant state of amazement, wonder, and gratitude.”

“Every man is a divinity in disguise, a god playing the fool.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

And these are the 3 stages of life. The reason why I wanted to share this with you is because I happen to know that these 3 stages are real. I was in stage 1, stage 2 and stage 3. I now feel how I am going back and forth from stage 2 to stage 3, learning to trust my heart and intuition and working on transitioning fully to stage 3 and living my life from there 🙂

Which stage of life would you say you’re in? And do you think if you move from Stage 1 to Stage 2 for example, you will never go back to Stage 1? You can share your insights by joining the conversation in the comment section below 🙂

~love, Luminita💫


Luminita D. Saviuc

Luminita is the Founder and Editor in Chief of and also the author of 15 Things You Should Give Up to Be Happy: An Inspiring Guide to Discovering Effortless Joy. For more details check out the 15 Things You Should Give Up To Be Happy Book Page.

read more
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :